Basic facts:


Capital city: Sofia

Population: 7,3m

Language: Bulgarian

Area: 110,994 km2

Currency: Lev

Political regime: Republic

Bulgaria, officially the Republic of Bulgaria, is a country in southeastern Europe. It is bordered by Romania to the north, Serbia and Macedonia to the west, Greece and Turkey to the south, and the Black Sea to the east. With a territory of 110,994 square kilometres (42,855 sq mi), Bulgaria is Europe's 16th-largest country.