Basic facts:


Capital city: Prague

Population: 10,5m

Language: Czech

Area: 78,866 km2

Currency: Czech koruna

Political regime: Republic

The Czech Republic, short form Českopronounced is a landlocked country in Central Europe bordered by Germany to the northwest and west, Austria to the south, Slovakia to the east and Poland to the northeast. Prague, the capital, is the largest city, with 1.3 million residents. The Czech Republic includes the historical territories of Bohemia and Moravia, and Czech Silesia.