Basic facts:


Capital city: Budapest

Population: 9,8 m

Language: Hungarian

Area: 93,030 km2 

Currency: Forint

Political regime: Republic

Hungary, formally, until 2012, the Republic of Hungary, Hungarian: is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It is situated in the Carpathian Basin and is bordered by Slovakia to the north, Ukraine and Romania to the east, Serbia and Croatia to the south, Slovenia to the southwest and Austria to the west. The country's capital and largest city is Budapest. Hungary is a member of the European Union, NATO, the OECD, the Visegrád Group, and the Schengen Area. The official language is Hungarian, which is the most widely spoken non-Indo-European language in Europe.