Basic facts:


Capital city: Skopje

Population: 2m

Language: Macedonian

Area: 25,713 km2

Currency: Macedonian denar

Political regime: Republic

Macedonia, officially the Republic of Macedonia, is a country located in the central Balkan peninsulain Southeast Europe. It is one of the successor states of the former Yugoslavia, from which it declared independence in 1991. It became a member of the United Nations in 1993, but, as a result of an ongoing dispute with Greece over use of the name Macedonia, it was admitted under the provisional reference of "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia transliterated: Poranešna Jugoslovenska Republika Makedonija), abbreviated as "FYROM".