Basic facts:


Capital city: Bucharest

Population: 20 m

Language: Romanian

Area: 238,391 km2

Currency: Romanian leu

Political regime: Republic

Romania and formerly also spelled Roumania is a unitary semi-presidential republic located in Central Europe, north of the Balkan Peninsula and on the western shore of the Black Sea. It borders Hungary, Serbia, Ukraine, Moldova, and Bulgaria. It covers 238,391 square kilometres (92,043 sq mi) and has a temperate-continental climate. With its 20.1 million inhabitants, it is the seventh most populous member of the European Union. Its capital and largest city, Bucharest, is the sixth largest city in the European Union.