Basic facts:


Capital city: Ljubljana

Population: 2 m

Language: Slovene

Area: 20,273 km2

Currency: Euro

Political regime: Republic

Slovenia officially the Republic of Slovenia is a nation state on the Adriatic Sea, bordering Italy to the west, Austria to the north, Croatia to the south and southeast, and Hungary to the northeast. It covers 20,273 square kilometers and has a population of 2.05 million. It is a parliamentary republic and a member of the European Union and NATO. Its capital and largest city is Ljubljana.